Guitars – So Many, Which Is The Best? – A Look At Peavey Guitars

Peavey Electronics Corporation is one of the largest audio equipment manufacturers in the world, headquartered in Meridian, Mississippi in the United States.

Hartley Peavey founded Peavey Electronics in 1965 after building his first amplifier in 1957. Since its foundation, Peavey Electronics has been privately owned, and has grown massively from their humble beginnings in Hartley’s basement in the 1950s.

The company maintains a museum featuring memorabilia related to Peavey Electronics and its notable users, which is open to the public.

So if I am doing pieces on Musical instruments, ie the guitar, why do I start with Peavey? Simple, my first electric guitar is a Peavey Raptor EXP Plus. Now this guitar is pretty freaking sweet. I mean seriously, it is. Despite the model I currently own, is a starter guitar, is a pretty powerful starter guitar.

The Peavey Raptor Plus EXP is a solid body, 25 1/2 inch 21 fret guitar. It has a 5-way pickup selector, hum canceling in second and fourth position and a six-in-a-line headstock with ergonomic tuner placement and straight string pull.

Now that’s pretty awesome if you ask me. Now I have been doing much recordings with this guitar and sounds pretty professional. Granted that I use ASIO, the guitar itself must also go a good distance when recording.

I also swapped out the stock strings that it came with, because I had too. I busted the B-string while tuning it. Yes I know, I had a bad ear then, well I still kinda do. The guitar also includes a tremolo bar! Yep a tremolo bar, now if anybody can figure out how to install it, please do hit me up, I am still trying to figure out how that thing fits in.

The guitar is a solid body guitar, which is a good thing? Well for me it isn’t a real option because I have never played a hollow bodied electric before, do they even exist?  Maybe those are the semi-acoustic…

Anyway, the guitar is a rather light guitar, it does have some stability weight on it, but its not that heavy, only 6.9 lbs.

The durability you ask? I mean what if I throw it down by mistake? Well guess what? I did. Nothing happened. As far as I know. The guitar’s body seemed to absorb the impact protecting the core of the guitar. Now that’s awesome 😀

All in all this is a pretty solid guitar and something I would recommend to anyone, any age. Even my little cousin can play this thing.

Also this guitar is easy to change out the strings. It also provides easy access to the pickups, so you can change them with some prior knowledge.

SO as I said before, I recommend this Electric Guitar for anyone now starting, or as a first electric guitar.

4 thoughts on “Guitars – So Many, Which Is The Best? – A Look At Peavey Guitars

  1. Pingback: How To Buy A Guitar – Advice for Beginners | AcousticGuitarBeginnerLessons.com

  2. Pingback: Advice For Beginning Guitar Players – A 10 Article Primer | AcousticGuitarBeginnerLessons.com

  3. Pingback: How To Buy A Guitar – Advice for Beginners | AcousticGuitarBeginnerLessons.com

  4. Pingback: How To Buy A Guitar – Advice for Beginners at Guitar Lessons and Tips

Leave a Reply

