Review: Shure PG 48 – Cardioid Dynamic Microphone

Shure PG48 - Bag, Microphone, CableSo in my new can do attitude, the: “I do want I want because I can”, I have decided to make a movie, now this has been on my mind ever since I was a child and I have since made many attempts at making a short film aka, a Webseries, now this has spawned dare I say it, a movie! Yes.  In my attempt to make a professional looking and sounding movie, I have invested in a microphone, while I couldn’t afford the Shure SM58 (which I am going to buy as well at some point), I picked up the PG48 and well, let’s just say I woke up with it.

Shure Incorporated is an American corporation originally founded by Sidney N. Shure in Chicago, Illinois in 1925 as a supplier of radio parts kits. The company became a consumer and professional audio-electronics manufacturer of microphones, wireless microphone systems, phonograph cartridges, discussion systems, mixers, and digital signal processing. The company also produces listening products, including headphones, high-end earbuds and personal monitor systems.

Current Shure LogoI must say even the box that the PG48 came in was absolutely gorgeous. Presentation on the part of Shure was brilliant. the microphone came in a sleek casing that housed it, and it had a cap for the underside of the microphone as to protect it from dust etc. They also provided me with free gifts, and we all know how much I love me my free stuff. In the box, it had a 15ft XLR-XLR cable, carrying case for the microphone, product papers and a mic holder and that’s it, but overall the initial presentation of the PG48 was amazing.

Shure PG48 - Angle ViewNow here comes the wicked part, the actual sound that comes from the mic. Now this Microphone is a microphone designed especially for the vocal presentation or vocal recording, not musical instruments or singing vocals. However it does a damn impressive job in capturing singing vocals (here’s a song done with a PG48, my Song.) Essentially it is perfected for presentation, speeches etc. Or in the studio for recording podcasts and such.

I am recording though my Alesis IO|2 and after a bit of tweaking the sound coming out of the mic and being recorded is amazing. Crystal clean, with almost no background noise, well practically none, So as long as you record in a quiet room, it produces no background noise. It really does produce clean cut sound.

Now my only problem really is that it records a bit soft, though I believe that this is my fault, and I am currently looking into that. The PG48 comes ready to record, in any audio workstation, or any podcast recorder. I also believe you can use it to make commentary. Though you would have to go through that yourself, but since it was designed for things such as speeches it should be pretty good when it comes to things like that.

Shure PG48 - Double Angle ViewNow also, I have tried recording my guitar with this, and the results were actually not that bad, it took in all of my guitar’s sound and it keep it clean without the sound becoming too digital. The recording felt as though it was a guitar playing, it kept the purity of the guitar if you understand what I mean. Although it had some highs being recorded as well,  it can record instruments pretty good (although I would spring for a SM class Shure Microphone).

At the end of the day, my PG48 is serving its purpose and it is doing its job quite well. For simple productions I would recommend this microphone. So There you go, go now. Pick it up.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Related articles

Leave a Reply

