Skrillex – Bangarang EP – BANG BANG! Your Ears Are Gone….Gone To PARTY!

Skrillex Press 3Bang Bang! So I recently got my hands on Skrillex‘s Banganrang EP, now I know this was released in 2011, but I couldn’t just keep my opionoins to myself, you know like most humans, so I decided to share them with you. I must say the Bangarang EP is quite interesting, if I do say so myself.

Sonny John Moore (born January 15, 1988), better known by his stage name Skrillex, is an American electronic music producer and singer–songwriter. Raised in Northeast Los Angeles and in Northern California, Moore joined the American post-hardcore band From First to Last as the lead singer in 2004, and recorded two studio albums with the band (Dear Diary, My Teen Angst Has a Body Count, 2004, and Heroine, 2006) before leaving to pursue a solo career in 2007. He began his first tour as a solo artist in late 2007. After recruiting a new band lineup, Moore joined the Alternative Press Tour to support bands such as All Time Low and The Rocket Summer, and appeared on the cover of Alternative Press‘ annual “100 Bands You Need to Know” issue.

Skrillex Press 2Now having listened to all of Skrillex’s orginal music, collaborations and remixes, the first thing that comes to mind, is how Bangarang doesn’t follow the the previous releases and EPs. On this album Skrillex makes heavy use of the real dubstep type basses. I am aware that most dubstep musicians call him ‘brostep’ due to his higher ranged wooble basses, and that fact that it does possess more than usual. I have noticed that the wooble basses are more prominet, the lower wooble bases however. Although this is not the case for all the songs, for example Bangarang still follows the style of previous releases, with little changes.

However other songs on the album are taking it in a new direction, I have noticed that while you can hear the previous skrillex sounds, there are many new lead istruments, such as a guitar. Which isn’t that new. Rather the guitars are being accented by the synthesiszers, or vice versa, which ever way you would like to call it. However on Breaking A Sweat, I have noticed that there exists a passage that sounds like a delayed clean guitar with an additional effect being appiled to it.

Other tracks I have noticed have a bit of a more techno vibe, consisting of a longer melodic passage than before. Don’t worry the sound of skrillex still exists there, I am just saying that more melody was heard is all. 

One Of the songs that really caught my ear was Kyoto ft. Sirah. It was really unusual but Skrillex at the same time. I must commend the melody, it was quite catchy and intoxication. The verse spat out by Sirah was amazing. I love that passage. The guitars really give the sound a very raw, hardcore feeling. I just thought so.

Skrillex Logo

All in all, I really love the album, it is something I could just sit back and listen to. I guess Skrillex is moving with the times, the sound is really taking off. 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

